WSAX-LP 98.5 on the air.

RI Community Forums Midwest Columbus WSAX-LP 98.5 on the air.

The login box issue should be resolved. If you are still having issues you can still use the alternate link, but please inform us so we can investigate.

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of knowbetter knowbetter 2 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of xmusicmatt
    xmusicmatt
    Participant

WSAX-LP 98.5 is on the air in NE Columbus, OH. Going to be an uphill road for them with WINF-LP on the same channel and already reaching parts of Columbus fairly well.

Profile photo of Alex Browne
    Alex Browne
    Participant

I have been listening to WSAX-LP via TuneIn for several months now.  I no longer live in Columbus and can’t receive the signal over the air.  I have several questions about it.

I am assuming it’s on the air, although Radio-Locator says it is “currently off the air” and “operating under a construction permit.”  Is it actually broadcasting, as opposed to just streaming online and/or on TuneIn?

WSAX’s website says “we’re on the air testing at 98.5.”  If they’re “testing” how long is that supposed to go on.  And is what I am hearing on TuneIn the format I am going to hear when it is “officially” on the air?  Right now it sounds like an automated format, and (at least in the dayparts I’ve listed to) much more a “smooth jazz” format than a real jazz format.

xmusicmatt
    Participant

Yes WSAX-LP is on air at 98.5 every time I have listened over the air it’s automated Jazz.

Profile photo of Tom McNally
    Tom McNally
    Participant

The website has 5 different streams listed …

“Our Broadcast Stream”

Smooth Jazz

Classic Jazz

Blues

Classic R&B

Profile photo of knowbetter
    knowbetter
    Participant