New York Hosts and Sports Talkers Lead 2018 National Radio Hall of Fame Inductees

National Radio Hall of FameThe National Radio Hall of Fame has announced its ten inductees for its 2018 class.

The class has a decidedly New York feel with four personalities who spent the majority of their careers in that market as well as three well known Sports talkers. The induction ceremony will take place Nov. 15 at Guastavino’s in New York with tickets available at

Making their way into the Hall of Fame from the industry election panel are:

Active Local/Regional 10+ Years: Jonathan Brandmeier (KZZP Phoenix, WLUP/WCKG/WGN Chicago, KCBS-FM Los Angeles)

Longstanding Local Regional 20+ years: Jim Kerr (WPLJ/WYNY/WMXV/WAXQ New York)

Active Network/Syndication, 10+ years: Mike Greenberg & Mike Golic (ESPN Radio)

Longstanding Network/Syndication, 20+ years: Dr. Laura Schlessinger (KABC Los Angeles/Premiere Radio Networks/SiriusXM)

The public fan voting category inductees were:

Music Format On-Air Personality: Kid Kelly (WHTZ New York, WBHT Wilkes-Barre, Backtraxx USA, SiriusXM)

Spoken Word Format On-Air Personality: Mark Levin (WABC New York, Westwood One)

The NRHOF nominating committee also selected four inductees for their contribution to the industry:

Nanci ‘The Fabulous Sports Babe” Donnellan as a pioneering voice in local and national sports talk radio.

Mike Francesa, afternoon host at WFAN New York from 1989-2017 and 2018-

Joan Hamburg, New York’s “First Lady of Radio” and longtime late morning host at 710 WOR and currently on weekends at 770 WABC New York.

Fred Jacobs, one of the creators of Classic Rock as a radio format and long time programming consultant.

Voting results for the 2018 National Radio Hall of Fame’s 24 nominations in six categories are in. Four of the categories were decided by a voting participant panel comprised of nearly 1,000 industry professionals. The other two categories were voted on by the public. Listener voting was administered by Votem and overseen by the accounting firm of Miller Kaplan Arase. They report an unprecedented level of listener participation with more than a half million votes cast for the two voting categories, Music Format On-Air Personality and Spoken Word Format On-Air Personality. The increase is attributed to the competitive and creative campaigning waged by nominees. The inductees by public vote are:

Mark Levin, The Mark Levin Show; syndicated by Westwood One
Spoken Word Format On-Air Personality

Kid Kelly, Backtrax USA with Kid Kelly; syndicated by Westwood One, on-air host and programmer, Sirius XM Hits 1
Music Format On-Air Personality

The inductees by the industry panel are:

Jonathon Brandmeier, The Jonathon Brandmeier Show, Chicago
Active Local/Regional, 10+ years

Jim Kerr, Rock and Roll Morning Show, Q104.3, New York
Longstanding Local/Regional, 20+ years

Mike Golic and Mike Greenberg, Mike & Mike, ESPN Audio
Active Network/Syndication, 10+ years

Dr. Laura Schlessinger, Dr. Laura, Sirius XM Stars 109
Longstanding Network/Syndication, 20+ years

Additionally, the NRHOF nominating committee voted to induct four individuals for their contribution to the industry. Those inductees are:

Nanci Donnellan, The Fabulous Sports Babe, a pioneering voice in local and national sports talk radio.

Mike Francesa, longtime afternoon drive host on WFAN AM/FM, The Fan, New York.

Joan Hamburg, host of The Joan Hamburg Show on 77 WABC Radio and prior, WOR AM, and known as New York’s “First Lady of Radio.”

Fred Jacobs, a creator of the Classic Rock music format, as well as a consultant to both commercial and public radio stations.

NRHOF Chairman Kraig T. Kitchin comments, “It’s our mission to recognize the most impactful personalities and individuals to our medium and honor them. We’re proud to induct these individuals for their contributions into the National Radio Hall of Fame in 2018, our 30th year.”

The induction ceremony takes place Nov. 15 at New York City landmark Guastavino’s located in midtown Manhattan. Tickets are now available at A portion of ticket purchases is a tax deductible charitable donation to the Museum.
Returning sponsors of the National Radio Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony include The Mix Group and V Creative.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More